The purpose of the TradeMark Southern Africa (TMSA) programme is to improve trade performance and competitiveness of the Eastern and Southern Africa regions – contributing to sustainable, rapid and inclusive growth and poverty reduction.

As such, the TradeMark Southern Africa programme supports the work of the 26-member Tripartite of the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA), the East African Community (EAC) and the Southern African Development Community (SADC). 

The £100m, 5-year programme is funded by the UK’s Department for International Development (DFID) as a Follow-on from the highly successful Regional Trade Facilitation Programme (RTFP), funded by DFID between 2003 and 2009. 

TMSA formally opened Project Management Unit in Pretoria, South Africa, on 15 July 2010.  TMSA's work programme has three main components, namely infrastructure development, trade policy capacity development and trade facilitation. 

TradeMark Southern Africa is hosted by the COMESA and is governed by a Memorandum of Understanding between DFID and COMESA. 

Background | TradeMark Southern Africa

Early Closure of TMSA Programme: The Secretary of State of the UK’s Department for International Development (DFID) has decided to terminate its financial contribution to TradeMark Southern Africa (TMSA), as announced on 4 December 2013. As DFID is the sole financier of the TMSA programme of support to the COMESA-EAC-SADC Tripartite, TMSA will officially be closed from 17 March 2014 instead of 31 October 2014. For more information about the TMSA closure, and for a summary of some of the more notable successes of the Tripartite achieved with TMSA support, please click here